Latest News


“If you like bands like Alabama Shakes, then I think you’ll like what The Sugarcanes are doing” Dom Alessio, triple j

Melbourne’s most revered Rock ‘n’ Soul quintet THE SUGARCANES are excited to announce the release of their debut LP The Sugarcanes on April 15th via Cobra Snake Neck Tie Records, led by the new single ‘Never Call’. THE SUGARCANES are also thrilled to announce that they are celebrating their debut album with a fun-filled launch show at The Tote on April 15th with special guests Yard Apes and Jim Lawrie Band


Tickets to THE SUGARCANES album launch at The Tote are on sale now via Oztix

The Sugarcanes is a dynamite slab of 13 blistering soul numbers, deeply rooted by the old-school marquis of the genre, from Otis and Etta to Mavis and Wendy Rene. The debut was recorded at Melbourne’s Soundpark recording studio (Paul Kelly’s Merri Soul Sessions, Bombay Royale, Gotye) with production by Naomune Anzai and, as is tradition, all-analog mastering/lacquer cutting by the revered engineer Don Grossinger over  in New York.

THE SUGARCANES were formed in early 2014 by brother and sister combo, Jack and Lucy Wilson (bass and vocals/rhythm guitar respectively). Roping in a couple of friends, the newly-minted quintet quickly built a fierce live reputation on their keen attention to those old soul melodies and textures – all pinned down by Lucy’s assertively dusky wail. This formidable live show has been faithfully captured in the debut recording, breathing these 13 tracks of heavy soul to life in a modern rock n roll take on the classic heartbroken genre.

THE SUGARCANES’ debut album follows the band’s hugely successful single, ‘Oh Darling’, which was launched at Laneway Studios and recorded and pressed to super-limited edition vinyl on-the-spot by Cut & Groove Records.

The band have been busy over the past few months, with a national support on The Smith Street Band’s tour, a feature spot on the premiere of Laura Imbruglia’s Amateur Hour, and playing a number of regional festivals including Beechworth Music Festival and Weekend at the Wonk. They have just wrapped up a month-long residency during February at live music institution The Old Bar, with supports from La Bastard, Howl at the Moon and Saint Jude.

The Sugarcanes track list:1

1. Testify

2. Come See About Me

3. Oh Darling

4. Never Trust a Girl In Love

5. Long Long Long

6. Piece of my Heart

7. Never Call

8. Big Man

9. Lucifer

10. My Man

11. Tour Wife

12. Make it up to you

13. Forget My Name

Connect with THE SUGARCANES:

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Official Website

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: