Latest News


Earlier this month came the exciting news that Mountain Sounds will return bigger, better and weirder for its sixth instalment next year. Now, one of Australia’s most beloved boutique music festivals is ready to announce the full lineup of artists who will provide the soundtrack to your Mountain Sounds 2019. Without further ado, we can confirm superstar sibling duo Angus and Julia Stone will bring their dreamy tunes to Mount Penang Gardens in February. It’s been an unstoppable year for the duo who played their biggest ever headline tour in promotion of their Gold selling album Snow and Platinum hit single ‘Chateau’. The song landed at # 3 in triple j’s Hottest 100 in January and is one of the biggest selling Australian singles this year.

Sydney producer What So Not is on his own trail of world domination making waves on the U.S dance and streaming charts and playing some huge shows at home and overseas in support of his debut album Not All The Beautiful Things. What So Not has performed at mega U.S festivals like Coachella, Lollapalooza, Ultra Music Festival and Pukkelpop.

Australia’s indie darling Courtney Barnett will be making the trip up north, armed with songs from her internationally acclaimed (ARIA # 2) sophomore album Tell Me How You Really Feel. In the last year, Courtney has performed on The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon, The Jimmy Kimmel Show, Seth Meyers and CBS Saturday. She’s arguably the most successful and critically acclaimed female artist to come out of Australia in the last 10 years.

Sydney hip-hop trio Thundamentals will also be along for the ride, having just released their daring new (triple j feature) album I Love Songs – as will three-piece party rock legends Skegss, riding high on their ARIA # 2 debut long player My Own Mess. The bill will also feature some of the hottest domestic acts killing it both at home and overseas like Slumberjack, Middle Kids and Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever. The festival will also feature some of the best international talent with U.K acts Nothing But Thieves, Yungblud and Riton & Kah-lo.

Mountain Sounds 2019 will continue the two-day/three-night format on Friday 15th and Saturday 16th of February 2019. As always, there’s much more than music on offer with live art and installations integrated throughout the picturesque Mount Penang Gardens site for Mountaineers to enjoy. There will also be a Thursday night pre-party for all campers (falling on Valentines Day next year), fancy dress onthe Friday and the breakfast boogie. Plus loads more.

Pre-sale registration now open:
General Admission on sale to the public at 9.00am Tuesday October 9.

Mountain Sounds is a proudly local, environmentally sustainable event, priding itself on providing a
platform to support local artists, business and the wider community. Having grown up locally, event
organisers are passionate about the local area and will be taking care to prevent negative environmental impact and reducing the carbon footprint.

Head to for all the latest updates on pre-sale and early bird tickets.

#Msf19 Full Lineup from Mountain Sounds Festival on Vimeo.


Angus & Julia Stone // What So Not // Courtney Barnett


Thundamentals // Nothing But Thieves (UK) // Skegss // Slumberjack // Middle Kids // Yungblud (UK) // Rolling Blackout Coastal Fever // Riton & Kah-Lo (UK) // Late Nite Tuff Guy // Stella Donnelly // Benson // Ruby Fields // Kwame // Kira Puru // Human Movement // These New South Wales // Dumb Punts // Made In Paris // DJ HMC // TOTTY // Moaning Lisa // POOLCLVB // Robbie Lowe // Conspiracy Crew // VOIID

As well as, in alphabetical order:
Bass RQ // Brad King // Bronx & Charlie Cripps // Cabal DJ’s // Cosmic Ken // Crocodyls // Cry Club // David Bangma // Elijah Something // Fritz // Georgia June // Good Pash // Grace Turner // Hamish Robertson & Spo // Hayden Shepherd // Jack Deane // James Hopping // Jimmi Polar // Jimmy Galvin // Joseph Raymond // Johnny Hunter // Little Quirks // LOZD // Mady Mooda // Matt Meler // Monday Morning // Pacific Avenue // Pamadelic // Pussy In The Dark // Rachel Maria Cox // Rad Dan // Sad Grrrls Dj’s // Sam Kirk // Savillian & Rūku // Scabz // Seany P // Snillum // Seaside // Sox N Slides // Stoive // Sur Select // Taya // The Moving Stills // The Waxfinz // The Womb Lordz // Tilldawn // Triple j Unearthed Winner // Trouble in Paradise // Wales // What If // William Collard & Josh Gapes


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: