Latest News


The Veils highly anticipated 5th album Total Depravity, released August 26th on Nettwerk reunites the band with the producer Adam ‘Atom’ Greenspan (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, Arcade Fire, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Band Of Skulls), and also sees co-production from Run The Jewel’s El-P and Finn Andrews (of The Veils). Over a two-year period, Andrews and El-P met up in various locations to collaborate together on Total Depravity, recording at Estúdios Sá da Bandeira in Portugal, Konk Studios in London, Casa Lynch in Los Angeles and El-P’s studio in Upstate New York.

“Over a period of roughly 2 years an album began to take shape,” says Finn Andrews (vocals/guitar). “There is a large cast of characters on this record. L. Ron Hubbard, Axolotls of course, kind natured crocodiles, a psychotic truck driver, The Pope and Ingrid Bergman all get a look in. The songs are all stories of various kinds; some experienced firsthand, others fabricated for my own amusement. It’s the first time I’ve ever written songs using mutilated loops and sounds as a starting point, though some of the songs also began on piano and were messed with later.”

The music video for “Axolotl“, the first single released from the album, was recently premiered by Pitchfork. The second track released from the album, “Low Lays The Devil”, is an impressive return to form for the acclaimed 5-piece with NME comparing the track to The Black Keys, “With a vocal that fits somewhere in between Kentucky rockers Cage The Elephant and Canada’s psych-folk group Timber Timbre”  – (NME).

The striking album cover is by the elusive Italian artist Nicola Samorí, known for the eerie beauty of his figurative work and a dedication to the preservation of classical styles and themes.  The heavy Renaissance influence that runs through the body of his work is masterfully and systematically deconstructed to create pieces that are both romantic and violent; which makes his paintings all the more raw.

the-veils-02.jpgTotal Depravity – Track Listing
1. Axolotl
2. A Bit on the Side
3. Low Lays the Devil
4. King of Chrome
5. Swimming with the Crocodiles
6. Here Come the Dead
7. In the Blood
8. Iodine & Iron
9. House of Spirits
10. Do Your Bones Glow At Night?
11. In the Nightfall
12. Total Depravity

About The Veils:

Singer Finn Andrews and bass player Sophia Burn first met when they were 12 years old at high school in New Zealand.  Along with Henning Dietz (drums), Dan Raishbrook (guitar) and Uberto Rapisardi (keys)  The Veils have released three records on Rough Trade RecordsThe Runaway Found (2004), Nux Vomica (2006), and Sun Gangs (2009). The Troubles of the Brain EP (2011) and Time Stays, We Go (2014) followed later on the band’s own label Pitch Beast Records.

“…the most moving, unsettling and unexpectedly haunting thing I’ve seen in rock music this year…they really, truly frightened me” LA Times

“There’s a new skinny giant in town. Intoxicating.”Uncut (UK)

“Gloriously sad-eyed rock that preaches to the perverted… The Veils have their own kind of elegant, seductive power.” The Guardian (UK)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: