Latest News










Sony Music Entertainment Australia is excited to announce Joy Williams’ eagerly awaited new solo album VENUS is available for pre-order from today, with the album set for released on Friday July 3rd 2015. A brand new track from the album, ‘Until The Levee’, is available as an instant download to fans who pre-order the album digitally, along with VENUS acclaimed first single ‘Woman (Oh Mama)’.  


The official music video for VENUS’ lead single, ‘Woman (Oh Mama)’, premiered at the end of April on VEVO and is available to watch here.   Joy made her first solo TV appearance on Late Night With Seth Meyers on May 11th, where she performed ‘Woman (Oh Mama)’. Watch the clip here


The bold first off single from VENUS continues to garner acclaim, with Rolling Stone hailing it as ‘a pop-leaning, empowering tune unlike anything the folk duo (The Civil Wars) ever recorded’. 


VENUS is Joy’s first full-length solo album since forming the multiple Grammy winning duo The Civil Wars, a potent musical partnership that ended in 2014. Joy describes the resolve that went into the making of VENUS and the inspiration behind the new song ‘Until The Levee’.  


“I heard a quote once, I think originally by Eleanor Roosevelt, that said, ‘A woman is like a bag of tea… you never know how strong she is until she’s put in hot water.’ When I was writing ‘Until the Levee’, I felt like I was swimming in that hot water. Everyone was asking about the abrupt end of The Civil Wars, I was trying to sort out a new rhythm as a new mother, fighting for my marriage which was going through a major overhaul, and reeling over my Dad’s terminal cancer diagnosis. I felt like I was up to my eyeballs in it all. There was a battle within myself: I could either let it all drown me, or I could learn to swim. I felt this pull, to find a new steady amidst what was feeling like total chaos. ‘Until The Levee’ was the second of almost 80 songs I wrote for VENUS. It’s the beginning glimmer of me finding that fight from within, to grow stronger from navigating through the pain, not away from it. This was one of the first moments I chose to stand there, determined to get through to the other side.”  – Joy Williams


Both ‘Until The Levee’ and ‘Woman (Oh Mama)’ will be featured on VENUS, along with ‘Before I Sleep’ and ‘What A Good Woman Does’.   Joy’s most recent album was her final effort as a member of the four time Grammy winning duo The Civil Wars, 2013’s self-titled THE CIVIL WARS, which debuted at #1 on the US Billboard 200 Chart.


Last week Joy performed a much anticipated show at London’s Islington Assembly Hall on May 6, the first of a trio of special live events held in advance of the forthcoming VENUS – her first official performances since November 2012.  She next appears at NYC’s Gramercy Theatre on May 14, and heads to California for a May 19 performance at L.A.’s El Rey Theatre. 




VENUS Track listing:


  1. Before I Sleep
  2. Sweet Love of Mine
  3. Woman (Oh Mama)
  4. One Day I Will
  5. Not Good Enough
  6. What a Good Woman Does
  7. Until the Levee
  8. You Loved Me
  9. The Dying Kind
  10. Till Forever
  11. Welcome Home



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: